8 X 10 Glossy

Posted: August 22, 2011 in Great stuff, The Glossy Magazine (all articles)
Tags: ,

My question is: who will actually read this thing? Who has time? And what do I have to say, that could inspire someone to use 5 or 10 of their precious free-time minutes to meander regularly to my blog?

I really  wanted to have some cool site name that people would get right away, like “Signed Sealed Delivered” or “Signed with Love”…because I want this site to reflect my passion for Sign Language.  But alas, always slow on the technology end of life, (we were runners-up on the last- known- human-beings to own a dvd player or a microwave) it seems I have maintained that status as a late-bloomer blogger!  Now it seems all the catchy free names are taken already.  Sigh.

So this is my attempt to share my life, some of the battles, some of the aha moments, and a few of the things I’m learning along the way. We’ll see if it’s  interesting.

“Glosses”  in the world of American Sign Language mean “words”. When you “gloss” a sentence in ASL you are giving the approximate English value. Because, as I have said at least a million times to people who ask, ASL is NOT simply English on the hands.  Honest.  It’s not.

I guess I’ll kind of be glossing my life… and my passion… if you’re interested in sign language, cross-cultural living and learning something new together… join me and share your glossed sentences!

Comments
  1. Melody Olson says:

    I’ll look forward to reading your posts 😉

  2. val says:

    I read it too 🙂 Great photo by the way!

  3. Steve Thomson says:

    See, someone is actually reading it!!!

    Steve

Leave a comment